Bypolls live updates: Voting underway for Mainpuri, six other Assembly seats

The Mainpuri parliamentary constituency, which has been the Samajwadi Party’s stronghold for over two-and-half decades, interestingly also bears testimony to a candidate securing zero votes.

In other words, the candidate — Shanker Lal, who contested an independent candidate in the 1957 general elections — did not even get his own vote as it was deemed invalid.

According to the Election Commission of India records, six candidates were in the fray, the other being Bansi Das Dhangar of the Praja Socialist Party, Badshah (Congress), Jagdish Singh (All India Bhartiya Jan Sangh) and independent candidates Mani Ram and Puttoo Singh.

Bansi Das Dhangar of the PSP emerged winner, bagging 59,902 votes (30.45 per cent) out of the 1,96,750 votes polled, while Badshah of the Congress was the runner-up with 56,072 votes (28.50 per cent).

Jagdish Singh of the All India Bhartiya Jan Sangh polled 46,627 votes (23.70 per cent).

Independent candidates Mani Ram and Puttoo Singh got 17,972 (9.13 per cent) and 16,177 (8.22 per cent) votes, respectively.

Shanker Lal who finished at the last spot, got zero votes.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *