India Clubbed With Hosts South Africa In U-19 Women’s World Cup | Cricket News

Shafali Verma will lead India at the U19 World Cup in South Africa.© Twitter

India have been clubbed with hosts South Africa, Scotland and UAE in group D of the inaugural under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup scheduled to be held from January 14-29. Eleven full member nations gained automatic entry, while Scotland, UAE, USA joined World Cup debutants Indonesia and Rwanda in the tournament that will witness 41 matches played across four venues in Benoni and Potchefstroom.

Heavyweights Australia find themselves in group A along with Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and USA. Group B features England, Pakistan, Rwanda and Zimbabwe. New Zealand, Ireland, Indonesia and the West Indies complete the group C.

The toppers from each group will make the semi-finals.

Both semis and final will be held at JB Marks Oval in Potchefstroom and entry to all the matches of the tournament will be “free of charge”, the ICC said in a statement. The tournament will be followed by the T20 World Cup in Cape Town, Paarl and Gqeberha beginning on February 10.

“To host one ICC event in a year is cause for great celebration, but to claim two in such quick succession is beyond our wildest dreams,” tournament director Sivuyile Mqingwana said during the launch event here on Wednesday.

Featured Video Of The Day

Shocked To See Pant Lose Vice Captaincy: Mohammad Kaif

Topics mentioned in this article

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *